Member Login
Tranzinfo History
Thursday, 28 June 2007

Since the early 1990s, members of the transport information profession in Australia and New Zealand have joined forces to promote the cause of quality information delivery to the transport community.  The group encompasses information professionals from road, rail, water and air transport.


The original brainchild of Bert Elson from the Transport Commission in Tasmania, and called Translib, the group has become even stronger with time.  In the mid 1990s it became Tranzinfo,  to reflect the Trans-Tasman cooperation of both Australian and New Zealand libraries.

Tranzinfo has three major aspects. It:

  • serves to keep the transport information profession connected and sharing; serves to ensure that effecient resource allocation and management practices (such as consortia buying) are provided to the transport community; and serves to ensure connection with, and contribution to, the wider library community.


The group meets annually to plan and review network initiatives. Members also communicate through the year for resource sharing and for updating.

Membership to Tranzinfo is gratis and is open to any transport-related Library in Australia or New Zealand.  This includes corporate, government, academic and special libraries.  Application for membership can be made to the Committee.

Annual meetings have included the following gatherings :

1992 - RARU (now CASR) Adelaide

1993 - Queensland Department of Transport, Brisbane

1994 - ARRB, Lorne Victoria - connected to the ARTF Conference

1995 - NRMA, Sydney - connected to the Specials Conference

2000 - RACV, Melbourne

2002 - Queensland Department of Main Roads, Brisbane

2003 - RARU (now CASR), Adelaide

2004 - Port of Brisbane Corporation, Brisbane

2005 - VicRoads, Melbourne

2006 - RTA, Surry Hills Sydney

2007 - Australian Maritime College, Launceston


2008 - Centre for Automotive Safety Researh (CASR), Adelaide

2009 - Department of Infrastructure, Melbourne

2010 - Department of Transport and Main Roads, Brisbane

2011 - Hobart City Council, Hobart

2012 - Roads and Maritime Services, NSW

2013 - Centre for Automotive Safety Researh (CASR), Adelaide

2014-  ARRB Group, VIC

2015-  ARRB Group VIC  

Last Updated ( Wednesday, 13 January 2016 )